North Carolina SEL Standards: Building Strong Foundations with Social Emotional Learning

While North Carolina has outlined social emotional development standards children from birth through age 5, data suggests that ongoing social emotional supports are necessary, particularly for ages 10 through 17. See how Move This World aligns with North Carolina’s focus areas.

Interested in learning more about how Move This World aligns with North Carolina’s state SEL standards and guidelines?

Fill out the form below.

What SEL skills does North Carolina recommend educators prioritize?

To prepare students for school settings, North Carolina recommends that educators focus on developing three aspects of social emotional development:

  1. Developing a sense of self
  2. Developing a sense of self with others
  3. Learning about feelings

How can districts become leaders in SEL? 

We’ve put together a sample alignment guide to show how seamlessly the North Carolina SEL guidelines align to Move This World’s curriculum objectives. A school or district-wide social and emotional learning curriculum can support all students, staff, and families in your community. Additionally, a Tier 1 approach to SEL helps provide a common language around social and emotional skills so that students, staff, and families can all participate in creating a positive school culture. Contact our team and learn more about bringing social and emotional support to your district.

Share and Move This World with us